By: Director of Law and Governance

To: County Council – 18 October 2007

Subject: Appointment of Independent People to Serve on the Standards

Committee and Member Remuneration Panel

Classification: Unrestricted

Summary: Recommendations by the independent selection panel of

independent people to be appointed as members of the Standards Committee and the Member Remuneration Panel.

FOR DECISION

Introduction

1. (1) At its meeting in June, Council was advised that:

- (a) the terms of office of the three independent people who serve on both the Standards Committee and the Member Remuneration Panel – Mrs Fiona Leathers, Miss Roberta MacCrone and Mr John Ogden – were due to expire on 30 June 2007;
- (b) Selection Committee had agreed in January that the same recruitment process should be used as on previous occasions, namely that an independent selection panel should be established comprising one person nominated by each of the three political groups to shortlist and interview applicants and submit a recommendation to the Council. The three people nominated to serve on the independent selection panel were:

Sir Graeme Odgers (Chairman)
Ms Jessica d'Souza Watts
The Reverend Chris Morgan-Jones;

- (c) because of the need for different independent people to serve on the Standards Committee and the Member Remuneration Panel, there were a total of six vacancies to be filled in this round of appointments.
- (2) Because there had been a poor response to the original advertisement for applicants, Council on 21 June accepted the recommendations of the independent selection panel that:
 - (a) a new and more wide ranging recruitment exercise be undertaken with a view to recommending candidates for appointment to Council in September or October;

(b) the terms of office of the existing independent members of the Standards Committee and the Member Remuneration Panel be temporarily extended until such time as the Council was able to make new appointments.

New Recruitment Exercise

2. (1) The second recruitment exercise resulted in a total of sixteen applications being received. The independent selection panel shortlisted ten candidates for interview on 4 and 13 September. Following the interviews the panel recommend that the following six people be appointed as independent members of the Standards Committee and the Member Remuneration Panel as shown below:

Standards Committee

Mrs Nadra Ahmed OBE DL

A resident of West Malling. Chairman of National Care Association, Vice-Chairman of Skills for Care; Board Member of Social Care Institute of Excellence.

Mr Peter Gammon

A resident of Ashford. Retired Chief Superintendent, Kent Police and Chair of Kent Probation Board from 2001 to 2007.

Miss Roberta MacCrone

A resident of Lyminge. Has served for one term as a member of Standards Committee and the Member Remuneration Panel. A former Justices' Clerk and currently a sessional Chairman for the Tribunal Service and a Panel Member for the Employment Tribunal.

Member Remuneration Panel

Mrs Linda Frampton JP

A resident of Broadstairs. Finance Director of a company in the storage industry and a long serving magistrate with experience on the Lord Chancellor's Advisory Committee and as a school governor.

Mrs Fiona Leathers JP

A resident of Edenbridge. Has served for one term as a member of Standards Committee and the Member Remuneration Panel. Magistrate and Citizens' Advice Bureau supervisor.

Mrs Elizabeth Tullberg JP DL

A resident of Faversham. Magistrate with experience on the Lord Chancellor's Advisory Sub-Committee, former Chairman of the Kent Probation Committee, current member of the Kent Police Authority Standards Committee.

- (2) Satisfactory references have been received for all six recommended appointees. Copies of their application forms can be made available to any Member in confidence on request to the Member Services Manager but are otherwise exempt under Paragraph 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.
- (3) The independent selection panel considered that the appointments they had recommended met the need to provide for a mix of continuity and change. They considered whether this requirement would be assisted by appointing some independent members for a shorter period to allow terms of office to be staggered, but concluded that this was unnecessary, provided that the Council continued to follow best practice by not appointing any one individual to serve on the Standards Committee or the Member Remuneration Panel for more than two terms. On this basis the panel recommend that the new appointments all be made for a period of four years with effect from 1 November 2007.

Recommendations

- 3. (a) That Mrs Nadra Ahmed OBE DL, Mr Peter Gammon and Ms Roberta MacCrone be appointed as independent members of the Standards Committee for a four-year term starting on 1 November 2007;
 - (b) that Mrs Linda Frampton JP, Mrs Fiona Leathers JP and Mrs Elizabeth Tullberg JP DL be appointed to serve as members of the Member Remuneration Panel for a four-year term starting on 1 November 2007;
 - (c) that future appointments be made at four-yearly intervals with no individual normally serving for more than two terms;
 - (d) that the Council place on record its grateful thanks to Mr John Ogden DL for his enormously valuable contribution to the work of the Standards Committee and Member Remuneration Panel over the past seven years (two terms);
 - (e) that the Council's sincere thanks be passed to Sir Graeme Odgers, Ms d'Souza Watts and the Reverend Morgan-Jones for so ably undertaking their role as the selection panel for these appointments.

Stuart Ballard Head of Democratic Services Ext: 4002

Background Documents: None